A peoples gave me Questions? *squee!* I’ll answer ’em!

So this is a Q & A post, because I’m too chicken to actually do award things–But because JaneyBGood of CupidOrCats is very nice and apparently thinks I’m funny (in the head) she gave me a Liebster Award. Thus, I decided I’d just do the questions part of things. :3

Questions from Janey:

1. If you could live underwater instead of on land, would you?
Maybe! πŸ˜€ (Oh dear we’re not off to a good start are we?) — I’m sure if I was there wouldn’t be that much difference to me, I enjoy being on land for all the beautiful sights there are up here, I’m sure I’d likewise enjoy living in the oceans(/lakes/rivers/anything bigger than a bathtub) for all the beautiful sights there are down there.
Also, if *I* lived in the water that probably means other people would too, and maybe we’d actually have a better attitude towards how we treat our water systems. (All that trawling and pouring muck into them) Orrrrr maybe it’d be like signing up to be treated like a second class citizen, hard to say.
Either way, I’m sure there could be a lot of fun had with “sleep with the fishes” jokes. Bawhaha

2. Are you a tea or a coffee person?
Tea! I have a mini-armoire devoted to tea. (Minimalists probably just cringed, sorry ’bout that.)
You know that moment in Scott Pilgrim versus the world where Ramona asks him to chose from a whole line up of teas? I scoffed. And then Scott says “Did you make some of those up?” and I couldn’t help but outright laugh. Yeah, if you remember that scene, I have far more tea than her. And I drink it. (Of course! It’s not for show.)

3. What would you like to achieve most of all this year?
Well, it turns out that I made a list of 1001 goals (yes, one THOUSAND, and one.), so I do hope to work on a bunch of those. If for no other reason than it’s hard *not* to achieve something when you have 1001 and one choices. Heh
But basing this answer on what I’ve actually been doing… I want to sleep.
Though other than that I also apparently want to get back to having a regular tabletop games night (since I’m now in one again) and want to stretch regularly (since I have been).
It wasn’t an active choice, so I guess I just missed stretching and D&D? (Well Iron Kingdoms in this case)

4. Would you choose comfort over style?
I am willing to, and do, go outside in pajama pants. I suspect that tells you everything you need to know about my views on comfort.
Which doing so, yes, can sometimes be embarrassing, but there are times where I take embarrassment over being uncomfortable.
I do know what style is, though I sometimes claim not to, but that is only a half truth. I don’t keep up on it. (‘Cause I‘m poor care more about comfort.)

5. What made you decide to blog?
Ah! This is a comparatively easy one.
You know how sometimes you have so many thoughts that you aren’t sure what to do with them?
Well occasionally I had so many that it wasn’t just my dining room table that was strewn with notebooks, it was the inside of my brain. It’s messy in there. Finger paint on the inner skull walls.
Cluttered with the sometimes funny, sometimes painful, running commentary that is my inner monologue. (Well, funny to me, which can mean it’s morbid as all hell to everyone else.)
When I think a lot, and those thoughts have nowhere to go, I like journaling… but sometimes you want the possibility of feedback. (Instead of dwelling in the shadows of your own internal feedback loop – even when it is augmented by the huge swath of things you take in. [Ahhrrr I be a knowledge pirate, sailing the seas of the interwebs, avoiding the booty, so that I can gather the digital papyrus scrolls. *cough* Ahem…])

6. What is the most embarrassing thing you have ever done?
Ah… This question I was thinking about the most.
I’m going to give it it’s own post, because it’s actually not a funny or cute story. Oh I could tell you something funny and embarrassing I’ve done, but it wouldn’t be the most embarrassing thing I have ever done.
In lieu, have an actually funny/cute story about the time I went in a hot air balloon when I was like 3 and a half.
Some of the details are fuzzy, but my brother closest in age was a newborn, and my mom, having seen an ad in the paper for a free hotair balloon ride had taken us out to the middle of nowhere to go up on it.
Sprawling farmlands all around, the mountains were only in the distance (I’m used to being snug up against them), only a few scattered building, this was “the country”.
So in one of the very few instances where my mom drove us just her, we arrived in the middle of nowhere to find a surprising number of people had come to the field dotted all over with giant balloons. I wasn’t very informed about the fact that most people drove everywhere, we usually rode bicycles, and in the way that kids do I thought that’s what other people did too, so the fact that there was an entire dirt parking lot full of cars was a surprise to me, I spent a lot of time trying to count them and run around near them (unaware of the danger) until my mom dragged me to what I perceived as an incredibly looooonnnngg lineup.
There were so many people, most of them adults, with a few kids. But most were “big kids” to me, six or more, who got taken more seriously by adults, and who wouldn’t want to play with a ‘baby’ like me…
At this point I could also finally see the balloons, and I believe we lost our spot in line the first time because I wanted to run to them. My mother, convinced that kids should be able to amuse themselves anywhere, thought I would be contented playing in the dusty hot sun of the waiting area, which I wasn’t, so she told me to go play with the other kids.
They were over in the cooler areas with grass and trees. So I sprinted to the trees and even though they mostly ignored me, I was grateful for the shade, climbing saplings that could barely support my weight, and dancing through the cool grasses.
After a while even a 3&1/2 year old realizes there’s only so much spinning in circles mostly by yourself you can do; I got tired. It felt like a really long time to me, so I went to go find my mother in the line up. I knew the colour of her shirt, and I found her fairly easily, I sat down by her feet and hugged her around the pant-leg and told her how tired I was, and asked her how much longer til we could ride the balloon… To my surprise a mans voice told me my mom was a little bit up in the line.
I looked up, into a bearded face, and for a few seconds felt nothing but shock!
How could I have mistaken this person for my mother?!
Embarrassment overwhelmed my young mind, renewed with nervous energy I ran to my mom and looked back at him often trying to figure out what I had gotten wrong. He smiled at me and my mother and he laughed about the silly kid mistake.
This further embarrassed me, I tried to figure out where I’d gone wrong. The shirt colour was the same, and he had the same colour hair as my mom, these, I later determined, must be the reasons why.
Still I burned with embarrassment at having made such a mistake, for years. After that I was very careful to make sure people were actually who I thought they were, reminding myself of this ‘Oops’ moment any time I was being careless. (You can tell I had some issues even then eh?)

The balloon ride itself was lovely, you could see so much from the 40 or so feet up (Guessing because it seemed about double or triple the height of the one story building they had there), they let it up on a rope. I’d not been in any tall buildings before this, so it was very impressive to me with all the trees, grass rolls, and buildings looking so small.
The mechanism for the bursts of fire was also mesmerizing, making us rise in semi-smooth jerks at the pull of a chord. They explained that hot air rises. I loved it.

It’s odd now to wonder if I would even remember having gone on the balloon if I had not also obsessed about the whole situation because of that mix up. <.<
I’m not sure. I do love fire, that alone might have made me remember it, and it was also certainly much different than anything else I had experienced up to that point. Either way, I do remember it either with that moment, or because of it. XD
Anyways, that’s one of my many embarrassing moments.

7. If you had a parrot, what is the first word you would teach it?
“Meow.” Okay, that’s just my first reaction, I don’t know for sure. I might try to teach it to remind me about it’s water and food dishes first. “Refill please– RE-FILL!”
I like that my cats ask for food and water when they are out, and I think that’s a good thing for any animal (including human animals of course) to learn.

8. What would you like people to remember you for?
I don’t know. Perhaps for my curiosity and willingness (if begrudging at points) to admit that I really don’t know or that I am wrong? Not many people seem willing to do those things and not begrudge the person (I begrudge my wrongness). I hope someday to become the kind of person who is okay with mistakes, because knowing you’ve made a mistake means you’ve learnt something.
Perhaps people will remember that I have worked so hard to be mentally and emotionally flexible despite being given a hand in life which should have made me more akin to a stone golem.
(Avatar of my childhood: A stone golem in a gymnastic suit. Hehehe)

9. What are you afraid of?
Lots of things. Mostly dying… and sometimes living too.
I’m afraid of not being able to think, and I’m afraid of what harms my actions can sometimes cause, and I’m afraid of what damage other people can do to me (intentionally or unintentionally), and I’m afraid because I’m unimportant in the most profound of ways (Speck on a speck as Bill Nye says. Which is amazing and awesome, but also a little scary), and so are all the people and things which are important to me.
Strangely (or not?), the fears which most paralyze the outward living of my life aren’t these which draw me from sleep and wrap me in chill and trepidation. no, the ones which paralyze my life are the simpler ones, like what some other human thinks of me at a given time (Like it matters what the clerk at the grocery store thinks of me?), or inability to act or think brought on by a strange and baseless fear-like sensation that I don’t understand and doesn’t seem to have a specific source, but moves like a runaway snake. (And so should stop that. Right now. Stooooop– Brain, stahp!)

10. Do you have a pet?
Yes! My husband and I have 2 cats, one his, one mine. (The one that’s mine mostly hates me. His cat tolerates me, but knows I’m more gullible and willing to give her treats for nothing. They both love him.)Β  This is the number of pets I’ve had throughout my adulthood, but it’s the least number of pets I’ve had for the rest of my lifetime.
My childhood home usually had a minimum of 4 cats, 2 budgies, and a dog. I also had fish, and mice at various points. (Lots of mice, which had names, and I would recognize them on sight and knew their habits/behaviours. It might just be that I’m a pet person. You know, just maybe. πŸ˜‰ )

11. If you could change one thing from your past, what would it be?
Ah, another one I don’t know the answer to. There are a lot of possible things to change… So much of it would be things that would greatly impact upon other people.
Perhaps…no, there is too much; and I am notΒ Inigo Montoya so I can not merely sum up. πŸ˜‰

You have my appreciation for having spent your time reading this.
Thanks. :O)
And thanks to Janey! For getting me to write some more. πŸ˜€

6 thoughts on “A peoples gave me Questions? *squee!* I’ll answer ’em!

    • I do try! I’m really glad you like them. And Thank You again for asking them. πŸ˜€
      I like to have a direction to hurl my thoughts at. I picture it like a target for water balloons full of paint. (Sploosh? Splat?) Everything lands around it, and on the wall, but if at least some of it hits the mark I’m good.

      (I also apologize if things were changing as you were reading. I spend the first 20 minutes after posting editing all my errors. XP I feel the need to get it out there, and once that’s done it’s easier to focus on editing rather than just content. Too bad there’s not a grammar checking on my computer. XD)

      • I love that image πŸ™‚ I need to have some direction or focus with my thoughts or else it just turns into a rambling mess, which has happened on my blog.

        Your writing is perfect, your thoughts are always so well-structured. I could learn a thing or two from you; I tend to just rant and ramble. Your answers were so well throughout and insightful.

    • My biggest trouble is that I’m not very good at providing that direction myself.
      Thank you! I’m glad it’s somewhat better than I thought. (it seems to amble and meander from my perspective. <.< )

      But that's likewise for yourself: Let me assure you that your writing comes out great, the only places it comes out rambley look intentional, like you're going for comedy. πŸ˜‰
      I love it.

      But for both of us, blogs are for that. Sometimes a mess is the best possible thing to produce. Messes can be beautiful, and even when they aren't being able to see them can help you start cleaning them up. πŸ˜‰

      • Yes, the rambling is often intentional. And it happens in my conversation too.

        You’re right. I spent so much time writing academic pieces and being serious at work that it’s nice to go to a place where I can be silly and fun, just like you can be honest on your blog and organise your thoughts. It’s such a great hobby, I wish I could get more people to do it.

  1. Congratulations on your award. While I admit they take a great deal of time if we answer them properly and follow all the rules, the awards are not only a great way for us to dig deeper into our own psyche but to become familiar with individuals we might otherwise have missed in our blogging experience. I try to find 2 or 3 blogs to visit out of the blogs individuals award a blog to in anticipation I’m in for a quality read. Keep up the great work.

Share Your Thoughts...

